When the Struggle is Real

 I struggle with sin. Yes, I do! The girl that grew up in a wonderful Christian family. The woman who volunteers with three Christian organizations, and has been a Christian for 12 years.
 I still battle the struggle; the agony, the soul-crushing, strength-sapping desire to live fully for the Lord. Yet, at the same time,  I am driven  to fulfill the longings of my evil desires. A battle rages within: to obey or not. “Does it even matter?” I demand out loud as the image of the sin flashes within my mind.
We have all been there. The moment where all time stands still, as though holding it’s breath waiting to see how a Christian answers in the battle of sin.
The Bible does directly address the problem of sin in a Christian’s life.
1. Let us lay a foundation for sin. The Bible clearly states that all have sinned. Not 50%, or even 75%. ALL! 100% of us have fallen from God’s perfect law. “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” (Romans 3:23)
2. The Bible also promises that if we confess our sin as being wrong  and turn from our evilness, then HE WILL forgive us. “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9) 
Friend, I can imagine your thoughts at this moment. “Yes, Eliza, I know. I grew up hearing these words. Weren’t those verses for nonbelievers? Were they not for those people wanting to be saved? I have asked for forgiveness, find myself sinning over and over.”
Dear Friend, 1 John 1:9 was not written to unbelievers, and I find that encouraging. It was written to believers by the apostle John. Secondly, I think that we should discuss the difference between Christians who sin and nonbelievers who sin. The difference is not that one group sins and the other doesn’t. The change is when they sin. A person who has the spirit of God within them is grieved by their sins. They will continue to attempt to break free from the cycle that they live in. The Christian is not content to live in sin. (Proverbs 24:16)
On the other hand, a nonbeliever does not have any fear of God and His wrath. (Romans 8:13) A non-christian will not repent of their sin. They will instead cling to their sin, not wanting to change.
Friend, when sin knocks on your door, “Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” (James 4:7) Yet, if you fail, which you will, may this encourage you: “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9)
I wanted to leave you with this verse of encouragement, “Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called and about which you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses.” (1 Timothy 6:12)
Keep fighting, girl, and know that Jesus isn’t letting go of you.
3 thoughts on “When the Struggle is Real”

  1. This is a great truth, that many try to cover up! I can remember times when people have told me that they see me as some great believer who never does anything wrong. When I look at my life close up though, I can see the sin and filth in my own life, that the world does not always see. It is great to know that I have a Savior who loves and forgives me. We are all works in progress. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

