The Sacrifice of Surrender

IMG_0290 (2)

“No God… No.” I cried out in my bedroom as I rocked my 15 year old self. Tears flowed from my eyes as I sought the Lord on my knees that night. Within I battled the fear that overwhelmed me. I feared trusting God. I wanted to, yet at the same time I longed to cling to my ways.

We have all, as Christians, have those moments where we must choose surrender. Those moments where we battle letting the Lord rule and control the outcome or our own willful selves.

“Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship.” Romans 12:1

Before Christ, the Israelite nation had been commanded to sacrifice the first born of their livestock to the Lord. It was a sacrifice, and since it was the first born, they had no promise of another animal. They had no knowledge if  the other sheep would give birth to healthy lambs, or even if their lambs would survive the birth on a cold night.

That is the essence of sacrifice: giving a circumstance or thing to God, even with no promise of return. We are commanded in Romans to sacrifice ourselves unto God as a living act of worship.

How can you practically sacrifice unto the Lord as an act of worship?

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Sacrifice of Surrender”

Leave a Reply

